The Grand Shuffle

And now, the part you’ve all been waiting for: the full listing of tracks submitted to ShuffleComp. (Well, not quite full. These are only the songs that ended up being sent to authors – there’s a smaller, messier pile of supernumerary tracks in a different file somewhere.)

Random personal waffling below the cut.

Interesting Artists I Discovered Through This: Christylez Bacon, Cocorosie, A Tribe Called Red, BoB, Storm Large, Gnarls Barkley, Joanna Newsom, Ladytron, Charm City Devils, Rebekka Karijord, Strength in Numbers, Studio Killers, The Wailing Jennys

Oh Yeah, Those Guys, Why Haven’t I Looked Up More Of Their Stuff: The Mountain Goats, The Decemberists, Jean Grae, Dar Williams, Blind Lemon Jefferson, Kool Keith, Miike Snow, Stan Rogers, The Faint

Songs I Got Earwormed, Damn You:
The Young Tradition – Lyke Wake Dirge (I already knew a different version of this)
The Irish Descendants – Rattlin Bog
Lily Allen – LDN
Brian Schidmit, Dan Forden and Steve Ritchie – Black Knight Theme
Tegan & Sara ft. Lonely Island – Everything is Awesome (actually, just the possum/frosting/blossom rhyme)
Studio Killers – Ode to the Bouncer (also have dancing chyk eyewormed)
Ladytron – International Dateline (and Destroy Everything You Touch, and Beauty*2)

Ten Artists I’m Surprised Didn’t Show Up On The List: Professor Elemental, Honest Bob and the Factory to Dealer Incentives, Mr. Scruff, Radiohead, MC Frontalot, Jonathan Coulton, Die Antwoord, Buggles, Devo, U2

Eight Songs Not Submitted By Me Which I Wish Had Been Made Into Games (By Someone Awesome Enough To Do It Properly):
Joss Whedon – Walk Through the Fire (preferably by someone entirely unfamiliar with Buffy)
Christylez Bacon – Roaches
Suzanne Vega – The Queen and the Soldier
The Avalanches – Frontier Psychiatrist
Tom Waits – Singapore
Dan Bern – Shakespeare’s Got A Gun
First Aid Kit – I Met Up With The King
Eddie Morton – I’m A Member of the Midnight Crew

Ten Tracks Which Didn’t Quite Make My List
Blockhead – You’ve Got Maelstrom (not quite enough material)
Headset – Back Before
Scroobius Pip – Thou Shalt Always Kill (didn’t think of it until too late)
Danny Hensworth – Mr. Money Man (requires a bit more context than it provides)
Skunk Anansie – This Is Not A Game (I would basically be trolling)
Manic Street Preachers – ifwhiteamericatoldthetruthforonedayitsworldwouldfallapart (or the entire Holy Bible album, but it’s triggery as all fuck and I wouldn’t really trust many authors to tackle it)
Saul Williams – Twice the First Time (this is very much an internal critique of hip-hop culture)
Tunng – Jenny Again (too specific a narrative)
Emily Portman – Stick Stock (too specific a narrative)
Arkona – Goi, Rode, Goi! (untranslated lyrics, about an easily-mishandled minority religion)

This entry was posted in interactive fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Grand Shuffle

  1. Rikard says:

    Glad you liked Strength in Numbers. For someone who likes bluegrass (or maybe I should say “newgrass” or “soulgrass” as they often venture outside the traditional), all the musicians are huge names (and amazing musicians) by themselves. Many of them have done weird and unusual things in various constellations. I could speak a lot about these musicians, but I’ll be somewhat brief in this comment.

    Béla Fleck, who co-wrote Lochs of Dread (“it chronicles a tale of Rasta Dude who has a bad dream involving Scotland”) is an amazing banjo player and one of my absolute favourite musicians, all categories. On my CD shelf, I have five of his solo CDs and ten albums with his group the Flecktones (which is both jazzier and more strange, in a good way – at least if you, like me, like things to be a bit odd), besides projects like Strength in Numbers. If I am to recommend further listening, without knowing that much about your tastes, I suggest the album “Live Art” with the Flecktones (which contains a different version of Lochs), and Béla’s “Throw Down Your Heart”, where he traveled around Africa and played with some of that continents greatest musicians.

    Edgar Meyer, bass, can play his bass like a fiddle. There seem to be no limits to what he can do. But besides that, he’s also a good composer, mainly moving somewhere between classical and bluegrass with influences from both jazz and other parts of the world. My first introduction to him was through “Appalachia Waltz” that he made with Mark O’Connor (fiddler in Strength of Numbers) and Yo-Yo Ma. Mama on that album is pure beauty, and (for example) Chief Sitting In the Rain is pure joy.

    Jerry Douglas, who also co-wrote Lochs, is one of the worlds foremost dobro players. O’Connor on violin and Sam Bush on mandolin the same, but I was going to make it short so I’ll end it here. (I could go on forever.)

    I’ll explore the list – there are many names on it that are completely unfamiliar to me, so this’ll be interesting.

  2. Jason Dyer says:

    I nearly sent Devo’s “Through Being Cool” but decided against it because I already had a school-themed one with Pink Floyd’s “Another Brick in the Wall”.

    The game I really would have liked to see from my submissions was Muse’s Knights of Cydonia, because who wouldn’t like a western/kung fu/science fiction/fantasy/communist propaganda mash-up?

Leave a Reply

